Home

“PAUSE – and take the time to find out what’s important to you. Find out what you love, what’s real and true to you – so it can infuse and inform your work and make it your own.”
Page 12, I Just Graduated… Now What? by Katherine Schwarzenegger

We are a generation of highly educated, socially geared individuals. We have grown up doing community service and learning. Yet we begin our professional lives with high debt, no clear path anymore, especially in light of cultural changes shifting the balance of what used to be defined by “female oriented careers” or “the boys club,” or racially divided. Or industry, whose paths are now outsourced or outdated.

One graduate wrote a book about it.  Her advice?

“PAUSE – and take the time to find out what’s important to you. Find out what you love, what’s real and true to you – so it can infuse and inform your work and make it your own.”

I like Katherine Schwarzenegger’s writing and was pleased to learn this is her second book, which probably qualifies her officially as an author in terms of careers so far. It’s a good one for her, and clearly she took the advice in the book, because that’s not one of the realistic drop-down boxes when you’re graduating.

I graduated college eight years ago and couldn’t even dream of where I am today. I’m on my second career, television production, and I love it. I also loved my first career, in university administration. Right now I am between gigs (freelance career, baby!) and enjoying the time to do exactly what Maria Shriver suggested – developing myself, so that I can take that more genuinely into whatever job I do next.

And to you, dear readers, I hope you will tell me what your path is and how you came into it! And if you plan to read Schwarzenegger’s book.

Leave a Reply

